Skip to content ↓

Sports

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

The extensive range of traditional team games, and competitive and recreational activities which we provide for students, forms a vital part of the Gordon’s curriculum because the character qualities required to be successful in sport are essential to academic and life success. Set in over 50 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, Gordon’s offers a vast range of sporting opportunities from golf and rowing to horse riding and karting. 

"Competitive sport is a key component in building self-esteem, confidence, school ethos and academic excellence."

sir michael wilshaw, her majesty's chief inspector of schools 2012-2016

 

platinum mark for Sports and PE

After five years of consecutive gold awards, the PE and Sports Department has been awarded the Platinum Mark - awarded to schools for their commitment to the development of competition across their school and into the community. Only 3% of schools in England hold the Platinum Mark.

Director of Sport, Jamie Harrison said the award reflected the “…commitment,  effort and enthusiasm shown by staff day in and day out, which allows Gordon’s School students to take full advantage of all the wonderful sporting opportunities offered to them.”

Recent Successes 

2022

  • King's College School 1st XI Hockey Tournament Winners
  • Football - U16s English Schools FA Cup Finalists
  • Tennis - U18 Girls' First Team Branston Shield Semi-Finalists
  • MUN - Gordon's School MUN Highly Commended Delegation Award
  • Netball - 1st VII National Cup Semi-Finalists
  • Netball - 1st VII County Cup Runners-up
  • Rugby - 1st VII Surrey 7s Cup Quarter-Finalists
  • Rugby - 1st VII Rosslyn Park National Bowl Semi-Finalists
  • Shooting - Winners of the British Schools Team Shooting Competition

2021

  • Golf - ISGA National Champions (title retained)
  • Golf - Girls' County Champions
  • Equestrian - Royal Windsor Horse Show Services Jumping 4th Place
  • Equestrian - Showjumping, Jumping with Style and One Day Event National Plate Finalists 
  • Hockey - 1st XI KCS Wimbledon Invitational Winners (title retained)
  • Hockey - 1st XI Lord Wandsworth College Invitational Winners (title retained)

2020

  • Equestrian - Hickstead Eventer Challenge National Championship Finalists
  • Golf - ISGA National Champions
  • Golf - ISGA Schools Cup Winners
  • Golf - Girls' HMC Team Champions
  • Golf - HMC Foursomes Runners-up
  • Golf - Millfield School Desert Springs European Schools Team 3rd Place
  • Hockey - 1st XI National Cup Quarter-Finalists
  • Karting - British Schools Karting Championships National Finalists (4)
  • Netball - U16s County Tournament Finalists
  • Rugby - 1st VII Seaford College Rugby 7s Cup Finalists
  • Rugby - U16s Lisbon Junior 7s Plate Winners

 

heads of sport & activities 
Director of Sport Mr J Harrison jharrison@gordons.school
Head of Girls' Athletics Mrs M Justice mjustice@gordons.school
Head of Boys' Athletics Mr I Jones ijones@gordons.school
Head of Cross Country Mrs M Justice mjustice@gordons.school
Head of Cycling Mr C Lewis clewis@gordons.school
Head of Equestrian Mrs W Wilman wwilman@gordons.school
Head of Football Mr P King pking@gordons.school
Head of Golf Mr D Mathews dmathews@gordons.school
Head of Hockey Mr D Mathews jmathews@gordons.school
Head of Karting Mr J Sinclair jsinclair@gordons.school
Head of Netball Ms N Humphrys nhumphrys@gordons.school
Head of Orienteering Mr J Harrison jharrison@gordons.school
Head of Rowing Ms M Shoolbread mshoolbread@gordons.school
Head of Rugby Mr C Davies cdavies@gordons.school
Head of Swimming Mrs M Justice mjustice@gordons.school
Head of Shooting Mr N Driver ndriver@gordons.school
Head of Tennis  Mr M Eaden meaden@gordons.school
Head of Cricket Mr P King pking@gordons.school
Head of Rounders Mrs S Forster sforster@gordons.school
Head of MUN Ms C Copeman

ccopeman@gordons.school