Skip to content ↓

Sports

The extensive range of traditional team games, and competitive and recreational activities which we provide for students, forms a vital part of the Gordon’s curriculum because the character qualities required to be successful in sport are essential to academic and life success. Set in over 50 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, Gordon’s offers a vast range of sporting opportunities from golf and rowing to horse riding and karting. 

"Competitive sport is a key component in building self-esteem, confidence, school ethos and academic excellence."

sir michael wilshaw, her majesty's chief inspector of schools 2012-2016

 

For Inter-House Sports news and results click here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

platinum mark for Sports and PE

After five years of consecutive gold awards, the PE and Sports Department has been awarded the Platinum Mark - awarded to schools for their commitment to the development of competition across their school and into the community. Only 3% of schools in England hold the Platinum Mark.

Director of Sport, Jamie Harrison said the award reflected the “…commitment,  effort and enthusiasm shown by staff day in and day out, which allows Gordon’s School students to take full advantage of all the wonderful sporting opportunities offered to them.”

Recent Successes

  • Equestrian - Hickstead Eventer Challenge National Championship Finalists, 2020
  • Equestrian - Show Jumping National Plate Finalists, 2019
  • Equestrian - Dressage National Plate Finalists, 2019
  • Equestrian - Dressage National Plate Finalists, 2018
  • Equestrian - Royal Windsor Horse Show Runners-up, 2018
  • Golf - Girls' HMC Team Champions , 2020
  • Golf - HMC Foursomes Runners-up, 2020
  • Golf - ISGA National Champions, 2020
  • Golf - ISGA Schools Cup Winners, 2020
  • Golf - Millfield School Desert Springs European Schools Team 3rd Place, 2020
  • Golf - Millfield School Desert Springs European Schools Team Champions, 2019
  • Golf - Girls' County Champions, 2018
  • Hockey - 1st XI National Cup Quarter-Finalists, 2019
  • Hockey - 1st XI KCS Wimbledon Invitational Winners, 2019
  • Hockey - 1st XI Lord Wandsworth College Super 7 Winners, 2019
  • Hockey - XI National State Boarding Schools Runners-up, 2019
  • Hockey - U13s National State Boarding Schools Champions, 2018
  • Karting - British Schools Karting Championships National Finalists 2020, 2019, 2018 and 2017
  • Football - 1st XI English Schools' FA Cup Semi-Finalists, 2019
  • Football - 1st XI English Schools' FA Cup Semi-Finalists, 2018
  • Football - 1st XI National State Boarding Schools Champions, 2018
  • Football - U16s English Schools' FA Cup Runners-up, 2017
  • Netball - U16s County Tournament Finalists, 2020
  • Netball - U16s Gordon's Invitational Winners, 2020
  • Netball - U16s National State Boarding Schools Champions, 2018
  • Netball - 1st VII National State Boarding Schools Runners-up, 2018
  • Rugby - 1st VII Seaford College Rugby 7s Cup Finalists, 2020
  • Rugby - U16s Lisbon Junior 7s Plate Winners, 2020
  • Rugby - 1st XV NatWest Vase Quarter-Finalists, 2019
  • Rugby - 1st VII Worth School Rugby 7s Trophy Winners, 2019
heads of sport & activities 
Director of Co-Curricular Ms C Holmes cholmes@gordons.school
Director of Sport Mr J Harrison jharrison@gordons.school
Head of Girls' Athletics Mrs M Justice mjustice@gordons.school
Head of Boys' Athletics Mr I Jones ijones@gordons.school
Head of Cross Country Mrs M Justice mjustice@gordons.school
Head of Cycling Mr D Aukett daukett@gordons.school
Head of Equestrian Mrs Wilman wwilman@gordons.school
Head of Football Mr P King pking@gordons.school
Head of Golf Mr D Mathews dmathews@gordons.school
Head of Hockey Mr D Mathews jmathews@gordons.school
Head of Karting Mr J Sinclair jsinclair@gordons.school
Head of Netball Ms N Humphrys nhumphrys@gordons.school
Head of Orienteering Mr D Aukett daukett@gordons.school
Head of Rowing Mr J Harrison jharrison@gordons.school
Head of Rugby Mr C Davies cdavies@gordons.school
Head of Swimming Mrs M Justice mjustice@gordons.school
Head of Shooting Mr J Harrison jharrison@gordons.school
Head of Cricket Mr P King pking@gordons.school
Head of Rounders Mrs S Forster sforster@gordons.school
Head of MUN Ms C Copeman ccopeman@gordons.school