Skip to content ↓

Pipes & Drums

Reflecting the ceremonial tradition of Gordon's

A unique and famous feature of Gordon's is our 50 strong Pipes and Drums Band. The Pipes and Drums reflect the ceremonial tradition of Gordon's School, which has been established for over 100 years. The Pipes and Drums play not only for our nine annual ceremonial parades, but are also in high demand for fetes, charity dinners, balls and other events outside the school. The Pipes and Drums wear a form of military uniform incorporating the Gordon tartan, and the same uniform is worn by all students for ceremonial parades.

Our aspiration is to have a Band that is world renowned, a reason why some students might chose Gordon’s ahead of any other school. In the coming years we aim for the Band to tour overseas, to compete in regional, British (Scottish Schools annual gathering) and international competitions (World Championships in Glasgow), and form lasting links with UK and overseas schools that also have Pipes & Drums.

Band Leader - Iona Scotson (Mrs) iscotson@gordons.school.

Please click here to see our Pipes and Drums Band perform at a School Parade

Forthcoming events

Friday 21st – Sunday 23rd September – Workshop
Friday 28th September - Chobham School Prom
Sunday 28th October – Lest We Forget rehearsal
Saturday 03rd November – Lest We Forget Concert
Wednesday 07th November – Remembrance Concert
Saturday 10th November – Concert for Peace
Saturday 10th November – RHCP gig
Sunday 11th November – ‘Battle’s O’er’ piper Guildford Cathedral
Sunday 11th November – Chobham Remembrance Pde
Saturday 19th January 2019 - Whitehall Parade
Sunday 20th January 2019 - Guildford Cathedral
Friday 08th February – Sunday 10th February – Robert Gordon’s College Pipe Band visit and workshop – TBC
Thursday 02nd May 2019 – Pipes and Drums fundraiser
20th May - 27th May – Pipes and Drums residential trip - TBC
Saturday 8th June 2019 - Patron's Parade & Fun Day
Saturday 29th June 2019 - Annual Parade