Skip to content ↓

Model United Nations

From poignant questions on modern geopolitics such as conflict in the Red Sea to the debate of modern environmental issues like deforestation and coral reef bleaching, Gordon’s MUN team debates these topics in fruitful; and sometimes heated, debates.  

Model United Nations (MUN) is an academic simulation activity in which participants assume the role of national ambassadors to debate and seek to solve global issues as part of one of the United Nations many committees. To be successful, delegates must have a precise attention to detail when constructing and analysing resolutions, a secure grasp of rhetoric to ensure their country's views are heard and an ability to work collaboratively. Gordon’s MUN delegates are leaders, brilliant public speakers, and fierce debaters.

As one of the select state schools in England engaging in both national and international Model United Nations conferences, Gordon's MUN team boasts an exceptional track record, consistently earning numerous 'Outstanding Delegate' accolades. The team is dedicated to enhancing and broadening their skills, extending a warm invitation to new members to join their ranks and participate in the exciting MUN experience.

Gordon’s recently hosted their own MUN Conference in March 2024, which was a monumental task in organisation and leadership from over 80 students. We are seeking to develop even more as a team in the academic year 2024/25 and will be organising another Gordon's-hosted MUN 2024/25 and an exciting International Conference in the next school year. 

‚ÄčIf you wish to become involved, or would like any further details on Gordon's MUN programme, please contact Mr Robert Blatch who leads our MUN programme.


Upcoming Conferences:

10th -12th May 2024 – Royal Hospital School

29th June 2024 – Bishop Thomas Grant School


Check out the students at the conferences here! 


Recent Successes

  • March 2024 - Highly Distinguished Delegate: N Teeton and H Donaldson-Sinclair at Haileybury MUN.
  • March 2024 - Hosted conference with all students heavily involved in the organisation at Gordon's MUN.
  • October 2023 - Highly Distinguished Delegate: N Teeton, H Gordon, B Muhsen A Shah. Highly Commended Delegation: UAE (representatives were Z Hafis, B Muhsen, A Oliver, G Gerrish, H Gordon, R Gurung and H Donaldson-Sinclair at Royal Russell International.
  • October 2023 - Highly Distinguished - H Gordon, Highly Commended - J Goate, B Bailey, H Donaldson-Sinclair, Reigate Grammar School.
  • May 2023 - Best Delegate- H Gordon and J Goate, Highly Commended - E Watson, H Donaldson-Sinclair, A Oliver, O Knight, J Taplin, A Torrington, Commended - Y Gurung, B Muhsen, Z Hafis - Royal Hospital School, Ipswich.
  • May 2023 - 5 Highly Commended Delegates - N Teeton, I Bowden, S Prasard, G Gerrish, A Reith - and 1 Outstanding Delegate - T Job- at Reigate Grammar Junior MUN
  • March 2023 - Distinguished Delegate at Haileybury - E Watson and Hamish D-S
  • 2023 Highly Commended at Haileybury - H Gordon
  • Highly Commended at the RGS MUN November 2022 - H Donaldson-Sinclair 
  • An excellent contribution to Royal Russell's 40th MUN, with students thoroughly enjoying the whole four-days.
  • Reigate October 2022 - E Watson, O Knight and A Torrington were highly commended, H Gordon was highly distinguished and H Donaldson-Sinclair won overall best delegate of his committee.  Our USA team also won best delegation. 
  • 2022 Highly Commended Delegation at the Gordon's MUN: H Donaldson-Sinclair, R Hunter, P Green, A Heeney and F Wright.
  • Haileybury MUN March 2022: H Gordon, representing Norway, who won highly commended in the economic and social committee.